Fatal crash profile · County
Traffic deaths in Howard County, Arkansas
County in Arkansas · United States
- Deaths, 2024
- 2
- Fatal crashes
- 2
- Population
- 12.5K
In 2024, 2 people died in 2 fatal crashes in Howard County, Arkansas. That was 50.0% fewer than in 2023 (4) and the fewest since 2021. The death rate was 16.0 per 100,000 residents, compared with 19.5 in Arkansas and 11.5 in the United States. Howard County had the 59th most traffic deaths among Arkansas's counties. Between 2020 and 2024, 14 people died, an average of 2.8 a year. That rate is based on fewer than 20 deaths, so it can swing a lot from year to year. 50% of fatal crashes were speeding-related.
Deaths
Traffic deaths
16.0
deaths per 100,000 residents in 2024
- About 80 percent of the rate in Arkansas: 19.5
- About 1.4 times the rate in the United States: 11.5
27.7
average deaths per 100,000 residents a year, 2020–2024
- About 1.3 times the average in Arkansas: 20.8
- About double the average in the United States: 12.1
-50%
change in deaths from 2023 to 2024
4 deaths in 2023, 2 in 2024
- Arkansas: +1%
- The United States: -4%
| Category | Deaths | Fatal crashes |
|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 6 | 6 |
| 2021 | 2 | 1 |
| 2023 | 4 | 4 |
| 2024 | 2 | 2 |
People who died within 30 days of a crash. A fatal crash can kill more than one person.
Embed
| Category | Deaths per 100,000 |
|---|---|
| 2020 | 47.0 |
| 2021 | 15.8 |
| 2023 | 31.8 |
| 2024 | 16.0 |
Uses Census population estimates, available from 2000.
Embed
Road users
Who died
0%
of deaths were pedestrians
- About 5 percent of the share in Arkansas: 11%
- About 5 percent of the share in the United States: 18%
| Category | Deaths |
|---|---|
| Vehicle occupants and others | 2 |
| Pedestrians | 0 |
| Motorcyclists | 0 |
| Cyclists | 0 |
Embed
| Type | Deaths | Share in Howard County | Share in Arkansas |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pedestrians | 0 | 0% | 11% |
| Motorcyclists | 0 | 0% | 13% |
| Cyclists | 0 | 0% | 1% |
| Alcohol-impaired driving crashes | 1 | 50% | 26% |
| Speeding-related crashes | 1 | 50% | 23% |
Alcohol-impaired and speeding-related count everyone killed in those crashes, so a death can appear in more than one row.
Crash factors
Speeding, alcohol, night and weekend crashes
50%
of fatal crashes were speeding-related
- About double the share in Arkansas: 23%
- About 1.8 times the share in the United States: 28%
50%
of fatal crashes involved a drinking driver
- About 1.9 times the share in Arkansas: 27%
- About double the share in the United States: 25%
| Category | Howard County | Arkansas | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Speeding-related | 50.0% | 26.9% | 24.8% |
| Alcohol-involved | 50.0% | 22.9% | 28.1% |
| At night | 0.0% | 46.8% | 53.6% |
| At weekends | 50.0% | 29.6% | 32.6% |
Share of fatal crashes. Alcohol-involved means a police-reported drinking driver.
Embed
Timing
When crashes happen
0%
of fatal crashes happened at night
- About 5 percent of the share in Arkansas: 47%
- About 5 percent of the share in the United States: 54%
50%
of fatal crashes happened at weekends
- About 1.7 times the share in Arkansas: 30%
- About 1.5 times the share in the United States: 33%
| Category | Fatal crashes |
|---|---|
| 12am | 0 |
| 1am | 0 |
| 2am | 0 |
| 3am | 0 |
| 4am | 0 |
| 5am | 1 |
| 6am | 0 |
| 7am | 1 |
| 8am | 0 |
| 9am | 1 |
| 10am | 1 |
| 11am | 0 |
| 12pm | 0 |
| 1pm | 1 |
| 2pm | 1 |
| 3pm | 1 |
| 4pm | 1 |
| 5pm | 1 |
| 6pm | 0 |
| 7pm | 1 |
| 8pm | 1 |
| 9pm | 1 |
| 10pm | 0 |
| 11pm | 1 |
All crashes 2020–2024.
Embed
| Category | Fatal crashes |
|---|---|
| Sun | 2 |
| Mon | 0 |
| Tue | 1 |
| Wed | 2 |
| Thu | 3 |
| Fri | 0 |
| Sat | 5 |
All crashes 2020–2024.
Embed
| Category | Fatal crashes |
|---|---|
| Jan | 3 |
| Feb | 1 |
| Mar | 0 |
| Apr | 0 |
| May | 1 |
| Jun | 3 |
| Jul | 1 |
| Aug | 0 |
| Sep | 0 |
| Oct | 2 |
| Nov | 2 |
| Dec | 0 |
All crashes 2020–2024.
Embed
Conditions
Weather and light
| Category | Fatal crashes |
|---|---|
| Clear | 9 |
| Cloudy | 3 |
| Rain | 1 |
All crashes 2020–2024. Crashes where conditions were not reported are left out.
Embed
| Category | Fatal crashes |
|---|---|
| Daylight | 8 |
| Dark - Not Lighted | 4 |
| Dawn | 1 |
All crashes 2020–2024. Crashes where conditions were not reported are left out.
Embed
Roads and vehicles
Where and what, 2020–2024
Roads with the most fatal crashes
- US-278-32
- SR-355-12
- US-2782
- SR-3551
- SR-27-21
- SR-271
- CR-POSSUMHOLLOWRD1
- CR-A00031
- US-278-021
- SR-84-011
Road names as recorded in police reports.
| Category | Vehicles |
|---|---|
| Cars | 7 |
| SUVs | 5 |
| Pickup trucks | 3 |
| Medium and heavy trucks | 2 |
| Motorcycles | 1 |
| Vans | 1 |
All crashes 2020–2024.
Embed
Vehicles most often involved
- Ford F-2502
- Peterbilt 3781
- Mercury Tracer1
- Kia Optima1
- Jeep Renegade1
- Hyundai Santa Fe Sport1
- Harley Davidson Electra Glide Ultra Classic 1031
- Ford Ranger1
- Ford Fusion1
- Dodge Grand Caravan1
Reflects how common a vehicle is as well as crash involvement; not a safety rating.
Crashes
Fatal crashes
The map loads when you scroll to it. It needs JavaScript.
Fatal crashes in 2024. Crashes without reported coordinates are not shown.
Filter crashes
| Date | Location | Road | Deaths |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nov 21, 2024 | Nashville | SR-27 | 1 |
| Jun 16, 2024 | — | US-278 | 1 |
| May 18, 2023 | — | SR-355-1 | 1 |
| Feb 4, 2023 | — | CR-POSSUMHOLLOWRD | 1 |
| Jan 7, 2023 | — | US-278 | 1 |
| Jan 3, 2023 | — | SR-355 | 1 |
| Jun 10, 2021 | — | US-278-3 | 2 |
| Nov 14, 2020 | — | SR-84-01 | 1 |
| Oct 17, 2020 | — | SR-27-2 | 1 |
| Oct 14, 2020 | — | US-278-3 | 1 |
| Jul 25, 2020 | — | US-278-02 | 1 |
| Jun 21, 2020 | — | CR-A0003 | 1 |
| Jan 1, 2020 | — | SR-355-1 | 1 |
Explore
Nearby and related
Get updates for Howard County, Arkansas
We'll email you when NHTSA publishes new data for Howard County, Arkansas, usually about once a year. We'll send a link to confirm your address first. No tracking and no sharing, and every email has a link to unsubscribe.
Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2020–2024. A fatal crash is one in which at least one person died within 30 days. Population: US Census Bureau estimates.